Your skills

Trail difficulty - single trail scale (STS)

S0
IMG_0942.jpg

S0 describes a single trail that has no particular difficulties. These are mostly liquid forest and meadow paths on non-slip natural soil or solidified gravel. Steps, rocks or root passages are not to be expected. The gradient of the path is easy to moderate, the curves are extensive.

S1
PXL_20201001_085013563~2.jpg

On a path described with S1 you have to expect smaller obstacles such as shallow roots and small stones. Isolated gullies and erosion damage are very often the reason for the increased level of difficulty. The subsurface can also be partially unsolidified. The gradient is a maximum of 40%. Switchbacks are not to be expected.

S2
IMG_0689.HEIC

In S-Grade S2 you have to reckon with larger roots and stones. The soil is often not solidified. Steps and flat stairs are to be expected. Often there are tight curves, the steepness is up to 70% in parts.

The obstacles must be overcome by shifting your weight. Constant readiness to brake and shifting the body's center of gravity are necessary techniques, as well as precise metering of the brakes and constant body tension.

S3

Blocked single trails with many larger boulders and / or root passages belong to S-Grade S3. high steps, hairpin bends and tricky inclined journeys often occur, relaxed rolling sections are rare. Often slippery ground and loose scree are to be expected, steepnesses over 70% are not uncommon.

Passages that have the 3rd degree of difficulty do not yet require trial techniques, but very good bike control and constant concentration are a prerequisite for mastering S3. Exact braking and very good balance are necessary.

S4

S4 describes very steep and heavily blocked single trails with large boulders and / or challenging root passages, often with loose scree in between. Extreme steep ramps, tight hairpin bends and steps where the chainring inevitably hits the ground often occur in the 4th degree.

In order to ride in the 4th level of difficulty, trial techniques such as moving the front and rear wheels (e.g. in the hairpin bends) are absolutely necessary, as are perfect braking techniques and balance. Only extreme riders and exceptional bikers can cope with the S4, even carrying down these passages is often dangerous.

S5

The S-grade S5 is characterized by block-like terrain with counter-climbs, scree fields and landslides, loop-like switchbacks, several high, successively successive ledges and obstacles such as fallen trees - all of which are often extremely steep. If at all, there is little run-out or braking distance. Obstacles must z. T. be mastered in combination.

Only a handful of freaks try to cope with passages in the 5th level of difficulty. Some obstacles have to be skipped. It is hardly possible to move in switchbacks. Even carrying the bike becomes almost impossible here, as you have to hold on or even climb while walking.

Deine Fähigkeiten

Trail Schwierigkeit - Singletrail Skala (STS)

S0
IMG_0942.jpg

S0 beschreibt einen Singletrail, der keine besondern Schwierigkeiten aufweist. Dies sind meistens flüssige Wald- und Wiesenwege auf griffigen Naturböden oder verfestigtem Schotter. Stufen, Felsen oder Wurzelpassagen sind nicht zu erwarten. Das Gefälle des Weges ist leicht bis mässig, die Kurven sind weitläufig.

S1
PXL_20201001_085013563~2.jpg

Auf einem mit S1 beschriebenen Weg muss man bereits kleinere Hindernisse wie flache Wurzeln und kleine Steine erwarten. Sehr häufig sind vereinzelte Wasserrinnen und Erosionsschäden Grund für den erhöhten Schwierigkeitsgrad. Der Untergrund kann teilweise auch nicht verfestigt sein. Das Gefälle beträgt maximal 40%. Spitzkehren sind nicht zu erwarten.

S2
IMG_0689.HEIC

Im S-Grad S2 muss man mit grösseren Wurzeln und Steinen rechnen. Der Boden ist häufig nicht verfestigt. Stufen und flache Treppen sind zu erwarten. Oftmals kommen enge Kurven vor, die Steilheit beträgt passagenweise bis zu 70%.

Die Hindernisse müssen durch Gewichtsverlagerung überwunden werden. Ständige Bremsbereitschaft und das Verlagern des Körperschwerpunktes sind notwendige Techniken, ebenso genaues dosieren der Bremsen und ständige Körperspannung.

S3

Verblockte Singletrails mit vielen grösseren Felsbrocken und/oder Wurzelpassagen gehören zum S-Grad S3. hohe Stufen, Spitzkehren und knifflige Schrägfahrten kommen oft vor, entspannte Rollabschnitte werden selten. Häufig ist auch mit rutschigem Untergrund und losem Geröll zu rechnen, Steilheiten über 70% sind keine Seltenheit.

Passagen, die den 3. Schwierigkeitsgrad aufweisen, erfordern zwar noch keine Trial-Techniken, sehr gute Bike-Beherrschung und ständige Konzentration sind aber Voraussetzung zum Bewältigen von S3. Exaktes Bremsen und sehr gute Balance sind notwendig.

S4

S4 beschreibt sehr steile und stark verblockte Singletrails mit grossen Felsbrocken und/oder anspruchsvollen Wurzelpassagen, dazwischen häufig loses Geröll. Extreme Steilrampen, enge Spitzkehren und Stufen, bei denen das Kettenblatt unweigerlich aufsetzt, kommen im 4. Grad häufig vor.

Um im 4. Schwierigkeitsgrad zu fahren sind Trial-Techniken wie das Versetzen des Vorder- und Hinterrades (z. B. in den Spitzkehren) absolut notwendig, genauso wie perfekte Bremstechnik und Balance. Nur Extremfahrer und Ausnahmebiker können S4 bewältigen, selbst das Hinabtragen dieser Passagen ist häufig nicht ungefährlich.

S5

Der S-Grad S5 wird charakterisiert durch blockartiges Gelände mit Gegenanstiegen, Geröllfeldern und Erdrutschen, ösenartigen Spitzkehren, mehreren hohen, direkt auf einander folgenden Absätzen und Hindernissen wie umgefallenen Bäumen – alles oft in extremer Steilheit. Wenn überhaupt, ist wenig Auslauf bzw. Bremsweg vorhanden. Hindernisse müssen z. T. in Kombination bewältigt werden.

Nur eine Hand voll Freaks versucht Passagen im 5. Schwierigkeitsgrad zu bewältigen. Hindernisse müssen teilweise übersprungen werden. In Spitzkehren ist das Versetzen kaum noch möglich. Selbst das Tragen des Bikes wird hier fast unmöglich, da man sich beim Gehen festhalten oder gar klettern muss.